Scotland Women A Will Manoevre To Outrank Army Contenders

Scotland Women A Will Manoevre To Outrank Army Contenders

Scotland Women’s Academy Squad announced This weekend’s Scotland Women A fixture against the British Army kicks off at 3pm on Saturday 30 January, at Lasswade RFC. The fixture marks the third time the developing side has taken to the field against the Army over the last three years and always proves to be an extremely exciting competition. Not only does it give players experience of competing at a higher performance level but the match will also be used as a selection tool in preparation for the Scotland Women A and Scotland Women tests against France A and France respectively on 6 February.The Scotland Women A selection against the British Army (30 January 2010) 15 Julie Sanaghan (Kirkcaldy RFC)14 Lynsey Douglas (Wasps)13 Annabel Sergeant (Dundee University)12 Laura Steven (Murrayfield Wanderers)11 Katy Green (Murrayfield Wanderers)10 Nicola Halfpenny (Melrose RFC)9 Sarah Gill (Murrayfield Wanderers) 1 Louise Gray (Henley) 2 Nikki McLeod (Edinburgh University RFC)3 Mairi Forsyth (Grangemouth RFC)4 Anna Swan (Edinburgh University RFC) 5 Jenny Johnston (Hillhead Jordanhill) 6 Natalya Macholla (Stirling County RFC)7 Tess Forsberg (Murrayfield Wanderers)8 Jemma Forsyth (Grangemouth RFC) Subsititutes16 Lindsey Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)17 Alison Macdonald (Royal High Cougars)18 Kelly Mitchell (Murrayfield Wanderers)19 Lesley Graham (Murrayfield Wanderers)20 Claire Bain (Royal High Cougars)21 Steph Johnston (Hillhead Jordanhill)22 Sarah Dixon (Watsonians RFC)      The Scottish Women’s Rugby Academy Extended Squad The Scottish Women’s Academy has also begun its search for talented rugby players in Scotland; following on from the trials which took place on the 23 January 2010, an extended squad of players was selected to attend the second round of trials to be held on 13 February to establish a 24-player squad to face England Colleges in February and a Swedish Development side in April this year. The Academy is based on developing potential youth players in preparation for senior performance squads, and is taking a lead from current and ex-internationals Donna Kennedy and Claire Cruikshank who will be heading up the coaching. Jo Hull (Performance Manager) said: “It is extremely exciting to see younger talent coming through the performance pathway; many of these players listed in the extended Academy squad have progressed through the under-18 Regional Pathway programme and I am looking forward to seeing them develop within the Academy programme this year. Donna and Claire are committed to furthering both core skills and rugby knowledge at this level, and I am hopeful that the games will also provide an opportunity for the players to grow.”  The Scottish Women’s Rugby Academy Extended SquadMinna Ahlström (Edinburgh University)Rebecca Asquith (Stirling University)Rhianne Boag (Hillhead Jordanhill)Kirstin Daly (Dundee University)Sarah Dunnett (Murrayfield Wanderers)Fiona Farrell (Stirling County)Iona Haile (Biggar RFC)Lauren Harris (Aberdeenshire Quines)Suzanne Hex (Morgan)Grace HilbourneSarah Hunt (Edinburgh University)Lauren Ing (St Andrews University)Emma Jackson (Edinburgh University)Pippa Low (Stirling University)Laura Kinghorn (Broughton RFC)Megan Maciver (Melrose)Kerry MacKay (Aberdeenshire Quines)Ashley Manuel (Kirkcaldy)Leanne Neary (RHC)Marlies Nicolai (AGRO)Alex Notman (Stirling County)Ingrid Maria Luien Omma (Hillhead Jordhanhill)Sarah Paterson (Kirkcaldy)Sarah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)Laura Turner (Melrose)Katie Verweijmeren (Cartha QP)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners