Scotland Women Cross The Irish Sea For Training Game

Scotland Women Cross The Irish Sea For Training Game

As part of the year-long build-up to the 2010 Women’s Rugby World Cup, Scotland Women are currently following a specific calendar leading up to a training camp and a training game away before Christmas. The Scotland Women v Ireland Women training game will take place on Sunday 20 December 2009 at Belfast Harlequins RFC, Deramore Park, Belfast, kicking off at 12noon.Meanwhile Scotland Women A take part in a training weekend on 19 and 20 December in Edinburgh in preparation for their first game of the season against the British Army on 30 January 2010. After the festive break, the players will then continue to play for their clubs as the focus turns to the Six Nations which, for Scotland, kicks off against France at Lasswade on Saturday 6 February. Said Scotland Women Coach Gary Parker: “We have a few adjustments to make to improve some things but I’m confident in the players and the time we have that we will be able to challenge and develop the players for the Six Nations and the Women’s Rugby World Cup after that.” Scotland Women squad Lana Blyth (Murrayfield Wanderers)Laura Steven (Murrayfield Wanderers)Louise Dalgliesh (Royal High Cougars)Beth Dickens (Murrayfield Wanderers)Sarah Dixon (Watsonians)Sarah Gill (Murrayfield Wanderers)Katy Green (Murrayfield Wanderers)Tanya Griffith (Royal High Cougars)Celia Hawthorn (Edinburgh University)Keri Holdsworth (Watsonians)Donna Kennedy (Worcester)Erin Kerr (Wasps)Heather Lockhart (Hillhead Jordanhill)Joy Lyth (Royal High Cougars)Gillian McCord (Royal High Cougars)Lucy Millard (Team Northumbria)Lousie Moffat (Murrayfield Wanderers)Rosalind Murphy (Edinburgh University)Christina Ovenden (Richmond)Sarah Quick (Murrayfield Wanderers)Lynne Reid (Royal High Cougars)Ruth Slaven (Murrayfield Wanderers)Sarah-Louise Walker (Watsonians)Lindsay Wheeler (Team Northumbria) (Coaches: Gary Parker and Jared Tuoro) The sixth Women’s Rugby World Cup will be held in west London from 20 August to 6 September 2010.The world’s 12 best sides will battle it out over 30 matches with the final, semis and bronze final played at the Twickenham Stoop. The teams are divided into three pools:Pool A: New Zealand, Wales, Australia, South AfricaPool B: England, USA, Ireland, KazakhstanPool C: France, Canada, Scotland, Sweden

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners