Scottish Futures squad named for Italy trip

Scottish Futures squad named for Italy trip

Scottish Futures Head Coach, Claire Cruikshank, has named a 26-player squad to travel to Rome for a series of training matches with Italy and Ireland.

The squad, comprising of 14 forwards and 12 backs, will take part in training sessions alongside the two nations throughout the week in Rome, before facing both sides in two 40-minute matches on Friday 21 July at Stadio Tommaso Fattori in L’Aquila.

Out of the 26 players selected, 19 players featured in the last Scottish Futures match against Wales U23 back in April, with the side claiming a 15-5 win at Oriam.

The squad also includes U18 7s players Holland Bogan, Lucy MacRae, Megan Hyland and Nicole Flynn who have recently returned from competing at the Rugby Europe Girls U18 7s Championship in Prague.

Cruikshank said: “This is a fantastic development opportunity for the squad, providing the chance to experience a new environment while testing themselves in a week-long training camp, culminating in two 40-minute matches against Italy and Ireland.

“The ability to train alongside two other unions will be quite a unique experience for the players and the game opportunity at the end of the week will provide valuable insight from a coaching perspective on different learnings we can take going forward in the programme.”

Scottish Futures squad for Italy trip 2023


Aila Ronald (University of Edinburgh)
Alex Stewart (University of Edinburgh)
Angharad Hopwood (Stirling County)
Eve Thomson (Hillhead Jordahill)
Hannah McMahon (University of Edinburgh)
Holland Bogan (Stirling County)
Isabella Hannay (Durham University)
Katie Lindsay (Corstorphine Cougars)
Kirsty Ritchie (Biggar)
Megan Hyland (Garioch)
Molly Poolman (Watsonians)
Natasha Logan (University of Edinburgh)
Nikki Simpson (Garioch)
Poppy Fletcher (Heriot’s Rugby)


Ceitidh Ainsworth (Stirling County)
Cieron Bell (University of Edinburgh)
Hannah Walker (University of Edinburgh)
Holly McIntyre (University of Edinburgh)
Lucy MacRae (Stirling County)
Mary Nelson (Watsonians)
Nicole Flynn (Stirling County)
Rachel Philipps (University of Edinburgh)
Rhea Clarke (University of Edinburgh)
Roma Fraser (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Sarah Denholm (University of Edinburgh)
Sky Phimister (Stirling County)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners