Royal Bank RugbyForce 2023 Grants & Young Ambassadors announced

Royal Bank RugbyForce 2023 Grants & Young Ambassadors announced

Royal Bank RugbyForce, now in its fifteenth year of delivery, continues to support grassroots rugby clubs up and down the country to achieve their goals and build greener futures.


After a rigorous judging process, 10 clubs have been awarded a grant of £3,000 to help them tackle climate change from the grassroots up.

New for 2023, this year’s initiative sees a pivot with club’s being asked to promote sustainability in the local community.

Via their application, the clubs selected demonstrated genuine commitment to kick start their club’s climate action plans and put on a fantastic RugbyForce event to engage with their communities.

The top grant award winners faced competition from clubs across the country, which saw around 100 submissions put forward to the RugbyForce judging committee.

The clubs receiving the Royal Bank RugbyForce: Regenerate grants are:

Aberdeenshire RFC, Biggar RFC, Bo’ness Rugby Club, Cambuslang Rugby Club, Falkirk RFC, Haddington RFC, Kirkcaldy RFC, Mid Argyll RFC, Moffat RFC and Uddingston RFC.

A further 87 clubs will receive grants of £250 towards promoting sustainability in their local communities – the full list of winners can be found below.

Caledonia North: Aberdeen Taexali, Banff RFC, Caithness RFC, Ellon Rugby Club, Highland Rugby Club, Inverness Craig Dunain RFC, Fraserburgh RFC, Garioch RFC, Moray RFC, Nairn Mini Rugby Club, Orkney RFC, Peterhead Rugby Club, Ross Sutherland RFC, Turriff RFC.

Caledonia Midlands: Aberfeldy RFC, Bannockburn RFC, Blairgowrie RFC, Carnoustie HSFP RFC, Crieff & Strathearn Rugby Club, Deeside RFC, Dundee Rugby, Dunfermline RFC, Glenrothes RFC, Howe of Fife RFC, Hillfoots RFC, Kinross Rugby Club, Montrose & District RFC, Rosyth Sharks, Stirling County, Stirling University Women’s Rugby Club, Strathendrick RFC, Strathmore RFC.

East: Berwick, Broughton RFC, Caledonian Thebans, Corstorphine Cougars RFC, Currie Chieftains, Dalkeith, Dunbar RFC, Duns RFC, Edinburgh Academicals, Forrester Rugby Club, Gala Rugby, Hawick Harlequins RFC, Hawick Linden, Hawick RFC, Hawick Youth Rugby, Kelso RFC, Langholm RFC, Leith Rugby Club, Lismore RFC, Livingston RFC, Murrayfield Wanderers, Musselburgh Rugby Club, North Berwick RFC, Penicuick Rugby Club, Portobello FP RFC, Preston Lodge RFC, Royal High Rhinos, Stewart’s Melville RFC, Watsonian Football Club.

Glasgow North: Allan Glen’s RFC, Campbeltown Kintyre RFC, Clydebank RFC, Clydesdale RUFC, Cumbernauld RFC, East Kilbride RFC, GHKRFC, Glasgow East Juniors RFC, Glasgow Raptors RFC, Hillhead Jordanhill RFC, Lenzie RFC, Oban Lorne RFC, Waysiders Drumpellier RFC, West of Scotland FC.

Glasgow South: Ardrossan RFC, Annan RFC, Birkmyre RFC, Carrick RFC, Greenock Wanderers RFC, Irvine RFC, Kilmarnock RFC, Marr RFC, Paisley RFC, Wigtownshire RFC.

RugbyForce day will take place on Saturday 12 August when the Scotland National Team will face France away in the Famous Grouse Summer Series.

Clubs nationwide will bring their communities together to watch the game, and will host a range of pre-season events, such as community clean up days and kicking off sustainable facilities projects, to raise awareness of the positive impact of taking climate action.

All clubs will also be able to download a digital toolkit ahead of RugbyForce day to help support their prospective climate projects.


Now in its third year, the Royal Bank Young Ambassador programme has recruited 15 passionate 18-35 year olds from across Scotland to become the climate champions of their rugby clubs.

In partnership with Scottish Rugby, Royal Bank are empowering young people to take on responsible committee positions and spearhead their club’s climate action plans. With relevant training provided, our Young Ambassadors will be able to put their best foot forward in tackling climate change – benefitting their club’s pocket, their community and the environment.

Royal Bank is excited to announce an enthusiastic and committed cohort for 2023 whose applications demonstrated their passion to drive forward their club’s climate action plans.

This year’s intake features Young Ambassadors from all regions in Scotland, comprising of six females and nine males who are driven to make positive environmental and social change.

Each Young Ambassador will receive a £500 grant to put towards the climate projects outlined in their applications that showcased their dedication for a more sustainable future for their clubs and communities.

They will also benefit from digital support, mentoring, and invites to exclusive events at Scottish Gas Murrayfield.

2023 Royal Bank Young Ambassador 1st XV:

Ruairidh Macdonald – Aberdeen Taexali RFC
Calum McCallum – Biggar RFC
Calvin Cox – Aberdeenshire RFC
Rhianna Parket-Clevett – Annan Rugby
Shannon Martin – East Kilbride RFC
John McMillan – Forrester Rugby Club
Lindsey Kyle – Stonelaw High School of Rugby
Bryan Reddy – Greenock Wanderers RFC
Hannah Sainsbury – Stewartry RFC
Katie Whelan – Crieff & Strathearn RFC
Jamie Banks – Cambuslang RFC
Daryl Conway – Carrick RFC
Euan Greer – GHA RFC
Lucy Hanna – Broughton RFC
Ryan Vidler – Dunfermline RFC

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners