Scotland squad named for Rugby World Cup 2021

Scotland squad named for Rugby World Cup 2021

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson today named a 32-player squad for the upcoming Rugby World Cup 2021 in New Zealand.

The squad comprises of an equal split of 16 forwards and 16 backs, with the tournament marking the first ever Rugby World Cup experience for the entire squad, Scotland having made their last appearance at the showpiece event 12 years ago.

Rachel Malcolm will continue captaincy duties throughout the tournament – a role which the flanker has carried since 2018. Malcolm will be supported in her leadership role by vice-captain and Loughborough Lightning teammate, Helen Nelson.

Easson said: “Rachel and Helen are both very good leaders and very well respected by the group. They speak incredibly well on the field but also off the field.

“We’ve worked hard in trying to grow leaders throughout the whole squad, but to have Rachel and Helen leading the group is fantastic.”

Biggar’s Emma Orr is the youngest member of the squad, having turned 19 years old during this year’s Women’s Six Nations championship, while Emma Wassell is the most-capped member of the squad with 57 of the group’s combined total of 775.

A number of other experienced names are also selected, with the likes of Jade Konkel-Roberts, Lana Skeldon, Sarah Law and Chloe Rollie all boasting more than a half century of Scotland appearances, whilst Rhona Lloyd is a try short of notching 100 points for her country.

Easson continued: “We are all incredibly excited for the month ahead. I think it’s been a long time coming and it was exactly this time last year that we were in Italy trying to qualify for the Rugby World Cup so it’s been a year in the making.

“I’m hugely honoured to be naming our squad for the Rugby World Cup and I’d like to express my gratitude to everyone in the management team who has worked incredibly hard behind the scenes to get us to this point.

“A lot of discussions have been had, a lot of players have been played over the past year as well, so the process around that was to make sure we had the right players going.

“Selection has been tough as the players trained exceptionally hard over the summer, and then obviously getting the players back from the Commonwealth Games has been exciting for us as well.

“Everyone should feel incredibly proud of being selected for the tournament and I know the squad and management are ready for the challenge ahead.”

The squad will depart for New Zealand on 23 September, ahead of their first pool match against Wales on Sunday 9 October at Northland Event Centre, Whangarei (kick-off 5.45pm NZ time, 5.45am UK time).

The side will then go on to face fellow Pool A opponents Australia on Saturday 15 October (kick-off 3pm NZ time, 3am UK time) before taking on reigning champions and hosts, New Zealand, on Saturday 22 October (kick-off 4.45pm NZ time, 4.45am UK time).

All of Scotland’s pool fixtures will be on ITV main channel, and available on STV Player and ITV hub.

Scotland squad for the Rugby World Cup 2021


Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 18 caps

Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 18 caps

Sarah Bonar (Harlequins) – 31 caps

Elliann Clarke (Edinburgh University) – 1 cap

Katie Dougan (Gloucester-Hartpury) – 16 caps

Evie Gallagher (Worcester Warriors) – 13 caps

Jade Konkel-Roberts (Harlequins) – 53 caps

Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 30 caps

Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 29 caps

Louise McMillan (Saracens) – 37 caps

Lyndsay O’Donnell (Worcester Warriors) – 16 caps

Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 54 caps

Jodie Rettie (Saracens) – 17 caps

Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 57 caps

Molly Wright (Sale Sharks) – 15 caps

Anne Young (Heriot’s Rugby) – 2 caps

BACKS (16)

Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University) – 7 caps

Megan Gaffney (Loughborough Lightning) – 44 caps

Coreen Grant (Saracens) – 1 cap

Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 52 caps

Rhona Lloyd (Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais) – 39 caps

Caity Mattinson (Worcester Warriors) – 6 caps

Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 8 caps

Liz Musgrove (Watsonians) – 10 caps

Helen Nelson VICE-CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 43 caps

Emma Orr (Biggar RFC) – 4 caps

Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 50 caps

Eilidh Sinclair (Exeter Chiefs) – 18 caps

Hannah Smith (Watsonians) – 34 caps

Meryl Smith (Edinburgh University) – 3 caps

Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 46 caps

Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 3 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners