Scotland team named for TikTok Six Nations opener

Scotland team named for TikTok Six Nations opener

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson has named the starting line-up for the 2023 TikTok Women’s Six Nations opener against England at Kingston Park, Newcastle (kick off 4.45pm) – live on BBC Two.

Francesca McGhie will make her Scotland debut on the left wing, fresh from her involvement with Scotland development side ‘The Thistles’ in the recent inaugural Celtic Challenge, with centre Beth Blacklock in line to make her debut off the bench.

In the front row, Lana Skeldon starts at hooker with Leah Bartlett, loosehead prop and Christine Belisle, tighthead, either side of her.

Lyndsay O’Donnell and Louise McMillan link up in the second row, whilst Captain Rachel Malcolm, Rachel McLachlan and Evie Gallagher make up the back row.

Caity Mattinson and Helen Nelson are named at scrum-half and stand-off respectively, with Meryl Smith and Emma Orr chosen as the centre partnership.

Joining McGhie in the back three, Coreen Grant will make her first start for Scotland on the right wing, with Chloe Rollie selected at full back.

Easson said: “We’re really excited to play against the best team in the world at a sold-out stadium in Newcastle.

“It has been really good to integrate the group back together over the last four weeks and to start kicking on for this TikTok Six Nations.

“We’ve got a lot of new young faces and lot of experience still in here, and a squad who are really excited to get going.”

Tickets for Scotland’s home matches against Wales, Italy and Ireland at DAM Health Stadium in Edinburgh are available here. Secure your tickets and get along to support the team! U12s go free with a paying adult at just £15. Booking fees apply.

Scotland team to face England in the 2023 TikTok Women’s Six Nations (kick-off 4.45pm) – live on BBC Two

15. Chloe Rollie (Loughborough Lightning) – 52 caps

14. Coreen Grant (Saracens) – 1 cap
13. Emma Orr (Heriot’s Rugby/Biggar) – 6 caps
12. Meryl Smith (University of Edinburgh) – 4 caps
11. Francesca McGhie (Watsonians) – uncapped

10. Helen Nelson VICE-CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 46 caps
9. Caity Mattinson (Worcester Warriors) – 9 caps

1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 21 caps
2. Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 57 caps
3. Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 21 caps
4. Lyndsay O’Donnell (Bristol Bears) – 17 caps
5. Louise McMillan (Saracens) – 39 caps
6. Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 33 caps
7. Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 31 caps
8. Evie Gallagher (Worcester Warriors) – 13 caps


16. Jodie Rettie (Saracens) – 20 caps
17. Anne Young (Sale Sharks) – 2 caps
18. Elliann Clarke (University of Edinburgh) – 2 caps
19. Eva Donaldson (University of Edinburgh) – 1 cap
20. Eilidh Sinclair (Exeter Chiefs) – 18 caps
21. Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs) – 9 caps
22. Beth Blacklock (Harlequins) – uncapped
23. Liz Musgrove (Wasps) – 11 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners