Scottish Rugby names Transitional Players available for Celtic Challenge selection

Scottish Rugby names Transitional Players available for Celtic Challenge selection

Ahead of the opening round of the Celtic Challenge competition this weekend, 11 Transitional Players have been named as available for selection to the competition.

The players have been selected through the Scottish Qualified (SQ) Programme, led by Peter Walton and Rob Brieley. Additional players who have previously been involved with Scotland Women but currently live outside of Scotland are also included in the group.

The programme is a player centred initiative designed to identify, develop and support Scottish Qualified players living outside of Scotland and provides appropriate support and opportunities to progress towards age-grade, professional and international rugby.

The cohort of Transitional Players will sit outside of each of the core squad of 30 ahead of any potential contribution across the competition.

Included in the group are Panashe Muzambe, who was first capped for Scotland Women in 2019, plus, Fiona McIntosh and Demi Swann, who were most recently named in Scotland Women’s squad at the inaugural WXV2 competition held in South Africa earlier this year.

Both Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors could also receive additional bolstering from contracted Scotland players through the duration of the competition, provided their current club agrees their release.

Peter Walton, SQ Performance Transition Manager at Scottish Rugby said: “Myself and Rob are very pleased at the prospect of the Celtic Challenge giving our SQ women’s players the opportunity to play against other nations, and a window in which they can be seen by coaches across the Scottish Rugby pathway.

“The SQ programme plays a pivotal role in helping us identify talented players who not only qualify to play for Scotland but have a desire to one day represent the thistle, with Demi and Fiona being great examples of the success of the programme.

“I’d like to take this opportunity to thank all the clubs and Universities we work with for the continued support they give to our work.”

Transitional Players available to the Celtic Challenge

Izzy Hannay (Durham University & Harlequins)
Gemma Bell (Hartpury University)
Evie Addy (Hartpury University)
Nicole Marlow (Cardiff Mett University)
Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester Hartpury & Cheltenham Tigers)
Izzy McQuire-Evans (Worcester University & Sale Sharks)
Orla Proctor (Leicester Tigers & RAF)
Nicola Haynes (Saracens)
Demi Swann (Exeter Chiefs)
Fiona McIntosh (Saracens)
Panashe Muzambe (Exeter Chiefs)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners