Celtic Challenge Round Two teams named

Celtic Challenge Round Two teams named

Head coaches, Claire Cruikshank and Chris Laidlaw, have named their sides for Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors respectively, for Round 2 of the Celtic Challenge.

Having won an historic opening match against Glasgow last week, the team will look to build on an impressive performance with a consistent selection made to the squad, as they face Ireland’s Wolfhounds at Hive Stadium on Saturday 6 January.

Emma Orr comes into the starting line-up, with the Scotland internationalist having missed last week due to illness.

Nicole Flynn (Edinburgh University) is a further change to the matchday squad, and could make her Edinburgh Rugby debut from the bench.

On the selections, Cruikshank said: “Last week was an incredibly enjoyable occasion for the whole squad, however it’s now about backing up our performance against a strong Wolfhounds side.

“We’re expecting a physical battle, with more of an emphasis on the set-piece and the kicking battle in open play.

“It’s another exciting opportunity for this team, and I’m especially excited for Emma Orr and Nicole Flynn who are both set for their first appearances for the capital.”

Edinburgh Rugby team to face Wolfhounds at Hive Stadium (Saturday 6 January, kick-off 2pm) – live on BBC Sport website, BBC iPlayer and RugbyPass TV.

15. Rachel Philipps (Watsonian FC)*
14. Hannah Walker (Edinburgh University)*
13. Emma Orr (Heriot’s Blues/Biggar RFC)*
12. Briar McNamara (Watsonian FC)
11. Cieron Bell (Edinburgh University)*
10. Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)* CAPTAIN
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

1. Panashe Muzambe (Exeter Chiefs)**
2. Nicola Haynes (Saracens)**
3. Molly Poolman (Watonian FC)*
4. Fiona McIntosh (Saracens)**
5. Natasha Logan (Edinburgh University)*
6. Gemma Bell (Hartpury University)**
7. Alex Stewart (Corstorphine Cougars)* VICE-CAPTAIN
8. Merryn Gunderson (Corstorphine Cougars)


16. Millie Whitehouse (Edinburgh University)
17. Poppy Fletcher (Edinburgh University)*
18. Katie Lindsay (Corstorphine Cougars)*
19. Adelle Ferrie (Corstorphine Cougars)
20. Freya Walker (Watsonian FC)*
21. Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester Hartpury & Cheltenham Tigers)**
22. Nicole Marlow (Cardiff Met)**
23. Nicole Flynn (Edinburgh University)*

Glasgow Warriors are on the road this weekend, travelling to Cardiff to face Gwalia Lightning on Sunday 7 January.

Glasgow Warriors have a number of changes to their line-up, with Scotland international, Louise McMillan, returning to Saracens, whilst Mairi McDonald of Exeter Chiefs remains in the squad, earning a start at scrum-half.

Kiyomi Honjigawa has been called up to the competition from Corstorphine Cougars and will start at full-back for Warriors, whilst Transitional Player, Demi Swan makes her debut, starting at loosehead.

Centre, Giselle Chicot (Heriot’s Blues) has also been drawn from the Edinburgh Rugby squad to the bench for Glasgow, and could make her debut to the competition.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Laidlaw said: “After the great occasion that it was last week it’s been great to get back in this week, review the Edinburgh game and prepare for the challenge of heading down to Wales for this weekend’s game against Gwalia”

“A few players will get their first opportunity to play for Warriors this weekend which is exciting for us and starts to build more competition for places within the group which is what we will need during this competition to be competitive.”

Glasgow Warriors team to face Gwalia Lightening at Cardiff Arms Park, Sunday 7 January 2024, kick-off 1.30pm. You can watch the match live on BBC iPlayer and the BBC Sport website.

15. Kiyomi Honjigawa (Corstorphine Cougars)
14. Sky Phimister (Stirling County)*
13. Claudia McLaren (Stirling County)
12. Lucy MacRae (Edinburgh University)*
11. Pearl Kellie (Heriot’s Blues)
10. Ceitidh Ainsworth (Stirling County)*
9. Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs)

1. Demi Swann (Exeter Chiefs)**
2. Nikki Simpson (Garioch)*
3. Eilidh Flemming (Stirling County)*
4. Emma Turner CO-CAPTAIN (Corstorphine Cougars)
5. Ellie Williamson (West of Scotland)*
6. Holland Bogan (Stirling County)*
7. Lucy Winter (Watsonian FC)
8. Alex Love (West of Scotland)


16. Karis Craig (Watsonian FC)*
17. Allie Tucker (Watsonian FC)
18. Chloe Brown (Stirling County)
19. Sophie Anderson (Watsonian FC)
20. Izzy Hannah (Durham University & Harlequins)**
21. Rhea Clark CO-CAPTAIN (Edinburgh University)*
22. Carla McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)*
23. Giselle Chicot (Heriot’s Blues)

*Scottish Rugby Regional Training Centre supported players
**Transitional SQ Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners