Jack Dempsey set for first start in final Autumn Nations Series match

Jack Dempsey set for first start in final Autumn Nations Series match

Scotland have made two changes to their side for the final Autumn Nations Series match against Argentina this Saturday (19 November, kick off 3.15pm) at BT Murrayfield.

Jack Dempsey comes into the side to make his first start for Scotland, having come off the bench in all of the Autumn Nations Series matches so far. He will start at number 8 with Matt Fagerson and captain Jamie Ritchie named as the flankers.

Jonny Gray and Vice-Captain Grant Gilchrist partner in the second-row, with Richie Gray ruled out through suspension, and in the pack, Fraser Brown makes a second consecutive start at hooker, with Pierre Schoeman and Zander Fagerson chosen as the props.

In the backs, the same back three start for the third consecutive game, with Duhan van der Merwe and Darcy Graham on the wings and Stuart Hogg at full-back.

Sione Tuipulotu and Vice-Captain Chris Harris are selected in the centres, meanwhile Ali Price and Finn Russell make up the half-back pairing for the second successive week in a row.

Prop Murphy Walker is in line for his second cap if called upon from the bench, having made his debut at BT Murrayfield in the win over Fiji, whilst back row Andy Christie could make his first appearance of the Autumn Nation Series.

Jamie Bhatti and George Turner provide the remaining front row cover, with Glen Young the other forward on the bench.

Ben White, Blair Kinghorn and Cameron Redpath are the backs available from the bench in a 5-3 split between forwards and backs.

Argentina are familiar foes for Scotland, having faced them three times already this year in the summer. Scotland lost the first test before recording a memorable victory in Salta. In the final match of the series in Santiago Del Estero, Scotland were edged out by a dramatic last minute try.

Tickets for Saturday’s final Autumn Nations Series match against Argentina are still available here. 

Scotland team to face Argentina in the Autumn Nations Series on Saturday 19 November at BT Murrayfield, kick-off 3.15pm, live on Amazon Prime Video.

15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 95 caps
14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 32 caps
13. Chris Harris – Vice Captain – (Gloucester Rugby) 38 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 22 caps
10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) 64 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 57 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 15 caps
2. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 56 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 53 caps
4.Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 71 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist – Vice Captain – (Edinburgh Rugby) 58 caps
6. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 27 caps
7. Jamie Ritchie – Captain – (Edinburgh Rugby) 35 caps
8. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps


16. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 29 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps
18. Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap
19. Glen Young (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps
20. Andy Christie (Saracens) 3 caps
21. Ben White (London Irish) 8 caps
22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 37 caps
23. Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 3 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners