Scotland U20 Squad Named for 2023 Six Nations

Scotland U20 Squad Named for 2023 Six Nations

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has announced his 34-man squad for the upcoming 2023 Under-20 Six Nations campaign.

The announcement comes before the championship’s opening round next week, when those players selected will travel to face England at the Twickenham Stoop, London on Friday 3 February, kick-off 7pm – live on BBC iPlayer.

Murray’s squad is made up of 19 forwards and 15 backs, with seven players returning to the U20 age-grade side after representing their country in the 2022 Under-20 Six Nations or 2022 Under-20 Six Nations Summer Series. There are 10 players included in the squad have progressed from the Scotland U18 level squad who took part in the 2022 Six Nations Festival in France last year.

Of the 34 players named, 27 have developed their skills in Scottish schools and clubs, with the other 7 coming through the Scottish Qualified system which identifies potential players from outside of the country who qualify to play for Scotland through certain eligibility criteria.

The 2022 FOSROC Super6 Championship has been instrumental in continuing young player development following the 2022 Under-20 Six Nations and U20 Six Nations Summer Series.

In the Scotland U20 squad, 16 of the 34 players named have had the opportunity to develop their skills and gain valuable game time in the senior part-time professional environment. Over the course of the 2022 Championship, those 16 players accumulated 81 appearances and included stand-out performances from Duncan Munn and Liam McConnell, both of whom have been named as Scotland Co-Captains for the 2023 Under-20 Six Nations campaign.

Munn, a dynamic centre, and McConnell, a powerful back-row, both play for Edinburgh-based FOSROC Super6 club Boroughmuir Bears. They are also both part of the FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy, with Munn training with Glasgow Warriors and McConnell with Edinburgh Rugby on a full-time basis.

The Scotland team will welcome Wales for their first home match of the championship on Friday 10 February at Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow (kick-off 7.15pm) and then take the trip to Agen to play France at Armandie Stadium on 24 February (kick-off 8pm).

The tournament continues after a fallow week when Ireland come to Scotstoun on Friday 10 March (kick-off 7.15pm) and concludes with the final home fixture against Italy on Sunday 19 March at Scotstoun (kick-off 2pm).

All of Scotland’s U20 Six Nations matches will be available to watch live in the UK on BBC iPlayer.

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “We had a tough campaign last year although that gave a number of our players the experience of a high-pressure international playing environment. I feel pleased about our preparations as we head into the Under-20 2023 Six Nations.

“We’ve been able to name a strong squad today although there are a number of players still to return from injury who may be added to the squad over the course of the Championship.

“Over the past year in the role I’ve been able to build strong relationships with the players, and a new coaching group, as we develop them into not only great rugby players but great people too.

“I have been impressed by the players commitment to their craft across the course of the programme and I’m looking forward to what will be an exciting campaign ahead.”

Tickets for the three home matches at Scotstoun Stadium in Glasgow are available here.

Scotland Squad for 2022 Under-20 Six Nations


Max Surry (Cardiff Met University)
Craig Davidson (Watsonians RFC)
Moby Ogunlaja (Glasgow Hawks)
Callum Norrie* (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
Robbie Deans* (Watsonians/Edinburgh Rugby)
Eben Cairns** (Glasgow Hawks)
Elliot Young (Exeter Chiefs/Exeter University)
Corey Tait** (Boroughmuir Bears)
Jerry Blyth-Lafferty** (Boroughmuir Bears)
Harris McLeod* (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
Ruairaidh Hart** (Glasgow Hawks)
Eddie Erskine (Bath Rugby/Bath University)
Jake Parkinson (Ealing Trailfinders/Brunel University)
Rudi Brown* (Southern Knights/Edinburgh Rugby)
Sam Derrick** (Southern Knights)
Jonny Morris** (GHA RFC)
Liam McConnell* (Boroughmuir Bears/Edinburgh Rugby)
Ewan Guy (Cardiff Met University)
Johnny Rutherford** (Currie Chieftains)


Ben Afshar* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors)
Finlay Burgess* (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
Charlie Clare (Harlequins/Surrey University)
Richie Simpson (Ayrshire Bulls)
Harris Rutherford** (Gala RFC)
Kerr Yule** (Glasgow Hawks)
Duncan Munn* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors)
Murray Wilson** (Gala RFC)
Geordie Gwynn (Ealing Trailfinders/Brunel University)
Findlay Thomson** (Musselburgh RFC)
Amena Caqusau** (GHA RFC)
William Robinson (Caldy RFC)
Logan Jarvie* (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
Dan King** (Heriot’s Rugby)
Ben Evans* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player
**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners