Scotland U20 team named for Samoa decider

Scotland U20 team named for Samoa decider

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has announced his team to take on Samoa in the World Rugby U20 Trophy third and fourth place decider this Sunday 30 July (kick off 10am BST, 12pm local time).

A settled side will finish off the tournament, with a few new faces making their World Rugby U20 Trophy and Scotland U20 debuts.

The forwards see Craig Davidson start at loose-head, this time joined by Callum Norrie who returns to starting tight-head after a game on the bench. Corey Tait will once again start at hooker, completing the front row trio. Ruaraidh Hart will retain his position in the second row alongside Jake Parkinson who moves off the bench. The back row sees co-captain Liam McConnell complete the campaign as starting blindside flanker, this time joined by Selkirk RFC’s Monroe Job who will make his Scotland U20 debut in the final round of the tournament at openside. Monroe will make his debut for the team off the back of his five-month experience in South Africa as part of the coveted Macphail Scholarship. Sam Derrick will don the Number 8 jersey, completing the forward pack.

The half-backs remain the same for the fourth consecutive game with co-captain Ben Afshar continuing at scrum-half and Andrew McLean at stand-off.

Finn Douglas remains on the wing, this time joined by Kerr Johnston who will make his first start this tournament. Ben Salmon and Findlay Thomson will continue their centre partnership for the final match, with Dan King completing the first XV at fullback.

A five-three split makes up the replacement bench with Finn Duraj, Robbie Deans, Oliver Minnis, Eddie Erskine and other Scotland U20 debutant Archie Falconer in place to provide cover for the forwards and Finlay Burgess, Will Robinson (who will make his first appearance this campaign) and Matt Reid available to bolster the backs.

Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “Despite our previous result we still have one more game to play.

“We want to finish third, that’s a no brainer, so we’ve been working hard over the past couple of days to pick the guys back up and get them back on track.

“Samoa are no doubt a physical team and will be a massive challenge, one that the team are ready to face.”

The game will be available to watch here.

Scotland U20 team to face Samoa U20 at Nyayo National Stadium, Nairobi, Kenya on Sunday 30 July (kick off 10am BST, 12pm local time)


15. Dan King (Heriot’s Rugby)

14. Kerr Johnston (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors)
13. Ben Salmon (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
12. Findlay Thomson (Watsonians)
11. Finn Douglas (Southern Knights/Edinburgh Rugby)

10. Andrew McLean (Boroughmuir Bears)
9. Ben Afshar (Ayrshire Bulls) CO-CAPTAIN

1. Craig Davidson (Watsonians)
2. Corey Tait (Boroughmuir Bears)
3. Callum Norrie (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
4. Ruaraidh Hart (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
5. Jake Parkinson (Ealing Trailfinders)
6. Liam McConnell (Boroughmuir Bears/Edinburgh Rugby) CO-CAPTAIN
7. Monroe Job (Selkirk RFC)
8. Sam Derrick (Southern Knights)


16. Finn Duraj (Watsonians)
17. Robbie Deans (Watsonians/Edinburgh Rugby)
18. Oliver Minnis (Hartpury University)
19. Eddie Erskine (Bath Rugby/Bath University)
20. Archie Falconer (GHA RFC)
21. Finlay Burgess (Stirling Wolves/Edinburgh Rugby)
22. Will Robinson (Caldy RFC)
23. Matt Reid (Watsonians)


Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners