Inter-district Championship Round 2 squads announced

Inter-district Championship Round 2 squads announced

Head coaches Kenny Diffenthal and Colin Sangster have named their squads for Glasgow & West and the Caledonia Reds in Round 2 of the newly reinstated Inter-district Championship.

Round 2 will be hosted at Canal Park, Inverness this Saturday kicking off at 3pm.

Diffenthal has appointed Paul Cairncross of Glasgow Hawks and Conor Bickerstaff of Marr as co-captains for the squad, with both players selected in the starting line-up.

In the front-row, Michael Downer and Paul Cairncross (Glasgow Hawks) will pack down with Andrew Action (Marr), while Max Crumlish (Glasgow Hawks) and Adam Kerr (GHA) link-up in the second row.

Completing the forward pack are Fraser Grant (Marr), Ewan Stewart (Biggar) and Marack McCornick (Newton Stewart).

Fergus Johnstin (GHA) and Colin Sturgeon (Marr) will partner at scrum-half and stan-off, whilst Conor Bickerstaff (Marr) and James Pinkerton (Glasgow) join forces in mid-field.

Scott Bickerstaff (Marr) and Ryan Flett (Hawks) start on the wing with Chris Hyde (GHA) at full-back.

Completing the 23-man squad are replacements: Marc Ashdown (Glasgow Accies), Michael Fox (GHA), Angus Troop (GHK), Dario Ewing (GHA RFC), Max McFarlane (GHA), Gavin Cruickshanks (Glasgow Hawks), Sam Graham (Glasgow Hawks) and Ben Frame (GHK).

Sangster’s Caledonia Red squad will be co-captained by Sean Blair of Highland and Harry Russell of Falkirk.

Stephen Murray (Highland), Fraser Allan (Howe of Fife) and Glen Brough (Gala) will join forces in the front row, with Jake Mills (Edinburgh Accies) and Sean Blair (Highland) in the second-row.

Oscar Baird (Glasgow Hawks) and Sam Cardosi (Dundee) will play at flanker, with Callum Carson (Highland) at number 8.

Harry Russell (Falkirk) starts at scrum-half with Liam Brums (Glasgow Hawks) at stand-off.

DJ Inness (Currie Chieftains) and Max Wallace (Edinburgh Accies) will join forces in the centres, with Rupeni Rokoduguni (Highland), James McCaig (Currie Chieftains) and Adrio Muritoki (Highland) complete the squad in the back three.

The Caledonia Reds are complete with eight replacements: Archie Falconer (GHA), Euan Bissett (Howe of Fife), Jacob Ramsay (Currie Chieftains), Callum MacPherson (Stirling County), Gordon Gregor (Highland), James Imrie (Stirling County), Magnus Henry (Highland) and Seumas Ross (Highland).

The winner of Round 2 will go on to face The South at the Inter-district Championship Finals day at Braidholm (Glasgow) on Sunday 21 May, with the loser set to face the Edinburgh District on the same day.

Tickets for the Round 2 clash can be purchased here: be

Glasgow & The West

15. Chris Hyde
14. Ryan Flett
13. James Pinkerton
12. Conor Bickerstaff CO-CAPTAIN
11. Scott Bickerstaff
10. Colin Sturgeon
9. Fergus Johnston
1. Michael Downer
2. Paul Cairncross CO-CAPTAIN
3. Andrew Action
4. Max Crumlish
5. Adam Kerr
6. Fraser Grant
7. Ewan Stewart
8. Marck McCornick
16. Marc Ashdown
17. Michael Fox
18. Angus Troop
19. Dario Ewing
20. Max McFarlane
21. Gavin Cruickshanks
22. Sam Graham
23. Ben Frame

Caledonia Reds

15. Adriu Muritoki
14. James McCaig
13. Max Wallace
12. DJ Innes
11. Rupeni Rokoduguni
10. Liam Brims
9. Harry Russell
1. Stephen Murray
2. Fraser Allan
3. Glen Brough
4. Jake Mills
5. Sean Blair
6. Oscar Baird
7. Sam Cardosi
8. Callum Carson
16. Archie Falconer
17. Euan Bissett
18. Jacon Ramsay
19. Callum MacPherson
20. Gordon Gregor
21. James Imrie
22. Magnus Henry
23. Seumas Ross

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners