Inter-district Championship squads for reinstated competition are announced

Inter-district Championship squads for reinstated competition are announced

The squads for the four Districts competing in the Inter-district Championship competition in May have been confirmed today by the coaching teams.

Players have been selected on meeting player eligibility criteria as established by the Inter-district Championship Committee.

Players featured in each squad have been selected from across the National Leagues, which includes the Premiership.

In the revived format, four men’s teams from across the country – Caledonia Reds, Edinburgh, Glasgow & West and the South – will compete in two fixtures later this year.

Tuesday 9 May (7pm): The South v Edinburgh, Netherdale, Galashiels
Saturday 13 May (3pm): Caledonia Reds v Glasgow & The West, Canal Park, Inverness

The winners of each fixture will play in the Championship Final, with the remaining two teams battling it out in a third/fourth place play off on Sunday 21 May (venue TBC).

All three fixtures will be ticketed, with details on purchasing tickets to be confirmed shortly.

Welcoming the squad list announcement, Scottish Rugby Vice President, Keith Wallace said: “There is a fantastic breadth of talent in the squad selections for the four Districts, and I am sure the coaching teams had some difficult decisions to make. I am really looking forward to the competition getting underway in May and seeing these players showcase their skillsets.”

Caledonia Reds: Coached by Colin Sangster (Dundee), Kevin Wyness (Highland/GHA) Junior Bulumakau (Highland) and Sam Mountain (Gordonians)

Craig Shepherd (Aberdeen Grammar)
Cieran Wood (Ayr/Stirling County)
DJ Innes (Currie Chieftains/Grangemouth)
Paddy Boyer (Currie Chieftains/Highland)
Jacob Ramsay (Currie Chieftains/Kirkcaldy)
James McCaig (Currie Chieftains/Strathallan)
Sam Cardosi (Dundee Rugby)
Max Wallace (Edinburgh Accies/Deeside)
Jake Mills (Edinburgh Accies/Highland)
Glen Faulds (Falkirk)
Connor Faulds (Falkirk)
Stuart McCulloch (Falkirk)
John McKenna (Falkirk)
Harry Russell (Falkirk)
Stef Yarrow (Falkirk/Stirling County)
Glen Brough (Gala/Orkney)
Archie Falconer (GHA/Ellon & Garioch)
Oscar Baird (Glasgow Hawks/Highland)
Angus Winning (Gordonians)
Dom Martin (Heriot’s/Howe of Fife)
Rory Carmichael (Heriot’s/Perthshire)
Shaun Blair (Highland)
Calum Carson (Highland)
Magnus Hendry (Highland)
Steven Murray (Highland)
Patrick Ratumaiseses (Highland)
Ripini Rokodunguni (Highland)
Seamus Ross (Highland)
Fraser Allan (Howe of Fife)
Rhys Bonner (Kirkcaldy)
Callum Hunter (Stirling County)
James Imrie (Stirling County)
Callum Macpherson (Stirling County/Highland)
Josh Minty (Watsonians/Strathallan & Aberdeen Wanderers)

Edinburgh: Coached by Bob McKillop, Alex Hagart (Stewart’s Melville), Mark Cairns (Currie Chieftains) and Iain Bethinussen (Edinburgh Academical)

Aaron Cameron (Currie Chieftains)
Charlie Brett (Currie Chieftains)
Chris Anderson (Currie Chieftains)
Graeme Carson (Currie Chieftains)
Greg Cannie (Currie Chieftains)
Cammy Lessels (Currie Chieftains)
Ali McCallum (Currie Chieftains)
Gregor Nelson (Currie Chieftains)
Ian Sim (Currie Chieftains)
Jamie Forbes (Currie Chieftains)
Kody McGovern (Currie Chieftains)
Rhys Davies (Currie Chieftains)
Ryan Stewart (Currie Chieftains)
Cole Imrie (Edinburgh Academicals)
Finlay Simpson (Edinburgh Academicals)
Jamie Loomes (Edinburgh Academicals)
Lewis Wells (Edinburgh Academicals)
Neil Armstrong (Edinburgh Academicals)
Ruairi Campbell (Edinburgh Academicals)
Sinjin Broad (Edinburgh Academicals)
Ali Johnson (Heriot’s Rugby)
Bobby Kay (Heriot’s Rugby)
Danny Dineen (Heriot’s Rugby)
Innes Hill (Heriot’s Rugby)
Aaron Porteous (Stewart’s Melville)
Courtney West (Stewart’s Melville)
Euan McRury (Stewart’s Melville)
Jamie Sword (Stewart’s Melville)
Mikey Jamieson (Stewart’s Melville)
Ben Heber (Watsonians)
Benn Morris (Watsonians)
Fraser Cousin (Watsonians)
Josh Minty (Watsonians)
Matt Pritchard (Watsonians)
Rob Hastie (Watsonians)
Stu Allison (Watsonians)

Glasgow & West: Coached by Kenny Diffenthal (Marr),  Thomas Davidson (Glasgow Hawks) and Stephen Adair (Marr)

Cameron Reece (Ayr)
Jack Anderson (Ayr)
Ruairidh Anderson (Ayr)
Ewan Stewart (Biggar)
Michael Fox (GHA)
Adam Kerr (GHA)
Dario Ewing (GHA)
Luke McCutcheon (GHA)
Fergus Johnston (GHA)
Max McFarlane (GHA)
Chris Hyde (GHA)
Angus Troop (GHK)
Ben Frame (GHK)
Angus North (GHK)
Gary Strain (Glasgow Hawks)
Eben Cairns (Glasgow Hawks)
Michael Downer (Glasgow Hawks)
Paul Cairncross (Glasgow Hawks)
Gavin Cruickshanks (Glasgow Hawks)
James Pinkerton (Glasgow Hawks)
Sam Graham (Glasgow Hawks)
Ryan Flett (Glasgow Hawks)
Harry Murray (Marr)
Fraser Grant (Marr)
Callum Folan (Marr)
Colin Sturgeon (Marr)
Conor Bickerstaff (Marr)
Jack Scott (Marr)
Scott Bickerstaff (Marr)
Calum Inglis (Marr)
Andrew Acton (Marr)
Mark McCornick (Newton Stewart)

The South: Coached by Matty Douglas (Hawick), Andrew Clark (Musselburgh), Iain Chisholm (Peebles) and Robert Grigg (Melrose Rugby)

Ben Gill (Gala)
Craig Dods (Gala)
Angus Dun (Gala)
Liam Scott (Gala)
Kirk Ford (Hawick)
Ronan McKean (Hawick)
Andrew Mitchell (Hawick)
Gareth Welsh (Hawick)
Jae Linton (Hawick)
Calum Renwick (Hawick)
Stuart Graham (Hawick)
Dalton Redpath (Hawick)
Shaun Fairbairn (Hawick)
Nicky Little (Hawick)
Matt Carryer (Hawick)
Fraser Renwick (Hawick)
Shawn Muir (Hawick)
Gregor Young (Jed-Forest)
Paulo Alves Ferreira (Jed-Forest)
Liam Herdman (Kelso)
Angus Roberts (Kelso)
Frankie Robson (Kelso)
Bruce McNeil (Kelso)
Donald Crawford (Melrose)
Struan Hutchison (Melrose)
Bruce Colvine (Melrose)
Calum Crookshanks (Melrose)
Paul Cunningham (Musselburgh)
Sandy Watt (Musselburgh)
Danny Owenson (Musselburgh)
Paul Bogie (Musselburgh)
Michael Badenhorst (Musselburgh)
Craig Owenson (Musselburgh)
Aaron McColm (Selkirk)
Scott McClymont (Selkirk)
Andrew Cochrane (Selkirk)
Andrew McColm (Selkirk)
Bruce Riddell (Selkirk)
Luke Pettie (Selkirk)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners