Teams named for Inter-District Championship third/fourth place playoff

Teams named for Inter-District Championship third/fourth place playoff

Head Coaches Bob McKillop and Kenny Diffenthal have named their sides for the Inter-district Championship third/fourth place playoff at Braidholm on Sunday (kick off 12.30pm) – live on the Scottish Rugby website.

Rhys Davies (Currie Chieftains) will continue as Edinburgh captain, after skippering the region for their round 1 defeat to The South.

Props Chris Anderson and Graeme Carson join hooker Ryan Stewart (all Currie Chieftains) to make up the front row.

Ali Bain (Boroughmuir/Portobello) and Ali McCallum (Currie Chieftains) are in the second row, and Davies is joined by Stuart Allison (Watsonians) and Ruairi Campbell (Edinburgh Accies).

The half-backs for Edinburgh will feature Sinjin Broad at scrum half and Jamie Loomes (both Edinburgh Accies) at fly half.

In the centres, Greg Cannie (Currie Chieftains) is joined by Neil Armstrong (Edinburgh Accies), and the back three sees Ian Sim (Currie Chieftains) and Paul Christie (Heriot’s) on the wings with Charlie Brett (Currie Chieftains) at full back.

The replacements for Edinburgh are Danny Dineen (Heriot’s), Cole Imrie (Edinburgh Academicals), John Lascelles (Heriot’s), Malachy Keough (Heriot’s), Gregor Nelson (Currie Chieftains), Cammy Lessells (Currie Chieftains), Ben Heber (Watsonians) and Kody McGorven (Currie Chieftains).

Glasgow & the West continue to be Co-Captained by Paul Cairncross (Glasgow Hawks) and Conor Bickerstaff (Marr Rugby).

Their front row sees hooker Cairncross joined by props Michael Downer (Glasgow Hawks) and Andrew Acton (Marr Rugby).

The second row includes Angus Troop (GHK) and Max Crumlish (Glasgow Hawks), and in the back row, Ewan Stewart (Biggar) and Dario Ewing (GHA) are the flankers with Fraser Grant (Marr Rugby) at number 8.

Fergus Johnston (GHA) will start at scrum half, and outside him at fly half is Gavin Cruickshanks (Glasgow Hawks).

Bickerstaff at inside centre is partnered by Max MacFarlane (GHA) at outside centre. Sam Graham (Glasgow Hawks) and Scott Bickerstaff (Marr Rugby) will start on the wings, and the starting XV is completed by James Pinkerton (Glasgow Hawks) at full back.

Their replacements will be Marc Ashdown (Glasgow Accies), Dominic Grymkowski (Glasgow Accies) David Andrew (Marr Rugby), Luke McCuthcheon (GHA), Ben Frame (GHK), Colin Sturgeon (Marr Rugby), Ryan Flett Glasgow Hawks) and Chris Hyde (GHA).

15. Charlie Brett

14. Paul Christie
13. Neil Armstrong
12. Greg Cannie
11. Ian Sim

10. Jamie Loomes
9. Sinjin Broad

1. Chris Anderson
2. Ryan Stewart
3. Graeme Carson
4. Ali Bain
5. Ali MacCallum
6. Rhys Davies CAPTAIN
7. Stuart Allison
8. Ruairi Campbell


16. Danny Dineen
17. Cole Imrie
18. John Lascelles
19. Malachy Keough
20. Gregor Nelson
21. Cammy Lassells
22. Ben Heber
23. Kody MacGorven

Glasgow & the West

15. James Pinkerton (Glasgow Hawks)

14. Scott Bickerstaff (Marr Rugby)
13. Max McFarlane (GHA)
12. Conor Bickerstaff CO-CAPTAIN (Marr Rugby)
11. Sam Graham (Glasgow Hawks)

10. Gavin Cruickshanks (Glasow Hawks)
9. Fergus Johnston (GHA RFC)

1. Michael Downer (Glasgow Hawks)
2. Paul Cairncross CO-CAPTAIN (Glasgow Hawks)
3. Andrew Acton (Marr Rugby)
4. Angus Troop (GHK)
5. Max Crumlish (Glasgow Hawks)
6. Ewan Stewart (Biggar)
7. Dario Ewing (GHA)
8. Fraser Grant (Marr Rugby)


16. Marc Ashdown (Glasgow Accies)
17. Dominic Grymkowski (Glasgow Accies)
18. David Andrew (Marr Rugby)
19. Luke McCutcheon (GHA)
20. Ben Frame (GHK)
21. Colin Sturgeon (Marr Rugby)
22. Ryan Flett Glasgow Hawks)
23. Chris Hyde (GHA)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners