The South and Caledonia Reds confirm teams for Inter-District Championship final

The South and Caledonia Reds confirm teams for Inter-District Championship final

Head Coaches Matty Douglas and Colin Sangster have named their sides ahead of Sunday’s Inter-District Championship final at Braidholm (kick off 3.30pm) – live on the Scottish Rugby website.

Shawn Muir will captain The South once more, as he did in their 50-17 win over Edinburgh at Netherdale in Round 1.

Muir is joined in the front row by Matt Carryer and Nicky Little, making it an all-Hawick affair.

Shaun Fairbairn (Hawick) and Michael Badenhorst (Musselburgh) make up the second row, whilst Stuart Graham (Hawick), Calum Renwick (Hawick) and Bruce McNeil (Kelso) comprise the back row.

Bruce Colvine (Melrose) starts at scrum-half, and is joined by his club partner and fly-half Struan Hutchison in the half-backs.

Craig Dods (Gala) and Frankie Robson (Kelso) are selected in the centres, and Ronan McKean (Hawick), Dwain Patterson (Kelso) and Kirk Ford (Hawick).

On the bench for The South are Bruce Riddell (Selkirk), Luke Pettie (Selkirk), Calum Crookshanks (Melrose), Andrew McColm (Selkirk), Angus Dun (Gala), Gareth Welsh (Hawick), Donald Crawford (Melrose) and Sandy Watt (Musselburgh).

Harry Russell (Falkirk) continues as a Caledonia Reds Co-Captain after leading them to a 58-27 victory over Glasgow & the West in round 2, and is joined for the final by Stef Yarrow (Falkirk/Stirling County).

The front row consists of props Steven Murray (Highland) and Glen Brough (Gala/Orkney) and hooker Fraser Allan (Howe of Fife).

In the second row, Yarrow is partnered by Sean Blair (Highland), and the back row is made up of Callum MacPherson (Stirling County/Highland) at blindside flanker, Sam Cardosi (Dundee) on the openside and Oscar Baird (Glasgow Hawks/Highland) at number 8.

Russell starts at scrum half and his half-back partner is Liam Brims (Glasgow Hawks/Caithness), who starts at number 10.

The centres are DJ Innes (Currie Chieftains/Grangemouth) and Max Wallace (Edinburgh Accies/Deeside), and the back three features Rupeni Rokoduguni (Highland), James McCaig (Currie Chieftains/Strathallan) and Adriu Muritoki (Highland).

The replacements for Caledonia Reds are Archie Falconer (GHA/Garioch/Ellon), Arran Hain (Dundee Rugby), Jacob Ramsay (Currie Chieftains/Kirkcaldy), James Brough (Stirling County), Gordon Gregor (Highland), James Imrie (Stirling County), Glen Faulds (Falkirk) and Seumas Ross (Highland)

The South

15. Kirk Ford

14. Dwain Patterson
13. Frankie Robson
12. Craig Dods
11. Ronan McKean

10. Struan Hutchison
9. Bruce Colvine

8. Bruce McNeil
7. Calum Renwick
6. Stuart Graham
5. Michael Badenhorst
4. Shaun Fairbairn
3. Nicky Little
2. Matt Carryer
1. Shawn Muir CAPTAIN


16. Bruce Riddell
17. Luke Pettie
18. Calum Crookshanks
19. Andrew McColm
20. Angus Dun
21. Gareth Welsh
22. Ben Gill
23. Sandy Watt

Caledonia Reds

15. Adriu Muritoki

14. James McCaig
13. Max Wallace
12. DJ Innes
11. Rupeni Rokoduguni

10. Liam Brims
9. Harry Russell CO-CAPTAIN

1. Steven Murray
2. Fraser Allan
3. Glen Brough
4. Stef Yarrow CO-CAPTAIN
5. Sean Blair
6. Callum Macpherson
7. Sam Cardosi
8. Oscar Baird


16. Archie Falconer
17. Arran Hain
18. Jacob Ramsay
19. James Brough
20. Gordon Gregor
21. James Imrie
22. Glen Faulds
23. Seumas Ross

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners