Fagerson returns for Wales encounter at BT Murrayfield

Fagerson returns for Wales encounter at BT Murrayfield

Head coach Gregor Townsend has made one change to his team for Scotland’s second fixture of the 2023 Guinness Six Nations, against Wales at BT Murrayfield on Saturday (kick off 4.45pm) - live on BBC.

Zander Fagerson returns to the front row having missed out on last weekend’s opening win over England at Twickenham, with fellow tighthead prop WP Nel moving to the replacements’ bench.

54-cap Fagerson will form a front row also containing loosehead prop Pierre Schoeman and hooker George Turner.

Vice-captain Grant Gilchrist again partners Richie Gray in the second row, with Matt Fagerson packing down at the base of the scrum, flanked by captain Jamie Ritchie and Luke Crosbie.

In the backs, double Calcutta Cup try-scoring winger Duhan van der Merwe is joined in the back three by Kyle Steyn and Stuart Hogg, who continues at full-back.

Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones, who scored the opening try against England in round one, continue their centre partnership, with Finn Russell and Ben White – also a try scorer last weekend – resuming their half-back roles.

Aside from Nel, the replacements also remain unchanged, with Fraser Brown, Jamie Bhatti, Jonny Gray and Jack Dempsey in line to bolster the forwards when required and George Horne, Blair Kinghorn and Chris Harris likewise for the back division.

Scotland team to face Wales in the Guinness Six Nations on Saturday 11 February at BT Murrayfield, kick-off 4.45pm, live on BBC

15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 97 caps
14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 6 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 32 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 12 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 24 caps
10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) 66 caps
9. Ben White (London Irish) 10 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 17 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 54 caps
4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 70 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – Vice-Captain – 60 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 37 caps
7. Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 3 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 29 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 58 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 26 caps
18. WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 51 caps
19. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 73 caps
20. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 19 caps
22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 39 caps
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 40 caps

Tickets for Scotland’s match against Italy at BT Murrayfield in the Guinness Six Nations on Saturday 18 March are still available HERE

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners