Scotland name team for final match before Rugby World Cup 2023

Scotland name team for final match before Rugby World Cup 2023

Jamie Ritchie will lead Scotland in their final match before the upcoming Rugby World Cup, as head coach Gregor Townsend today named his squad for The Famous Grouse Nations Series fixture against Georgia this Saturday 26 August.

The last of three home summer Tests at Scottish Gas Murrayfield will see a Scotland 23 with six changes from the team selected for the narrow 30-27 defeat to Rugby World Cup hosts France in St Etienne two weeks ago.

Blindside flanker Ritchie will feature in an unchanged back row, with Rory Darge on the openside and Jack Dempsey at number 8.

Tickets for Scotland v Georgia this Saturday (kick-off 5.30pm) are still available HEREchildren under-12 FREE (with a paying adult) until mindnight on Thursday.

Vice-captain Grant Gilchrist is joined in the second row by Sam Skinner, behind a new-look front row containing Jamie Bhatti and WP Nel at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively, and Dave Cherry at hooker.

In the back division, Ben White returns at scrum-half alongside Finn Russell – also a vice-captain – at stand-off.

Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones once more resume their partnership at centre, and Kyle Steyn completes a back three alongside fellow wing Duhan van der Merwe and Ollie Smith, who starts at full back.

Among the replacement forwards, Ewan Ashman, Rory Sutherland and Javan Sebastian offer front row ballast, with Scott Cummings and Matt Fagerson also listed. George Horne, Ben Healy and Chris Harris also get the nod as back replacements to complete Townsend’s final squad ahead of next month’s tournament in France.

Scotland will compete in Pool B of Rugby World Cup 2023, where they will face South Africa, Tonga, Romania and Ireland.

Scotland team to play Georgia in The Famous Grouse Nations Series at Scottish Gas Murrayfield on Saturday 26 August 2023, kick-off 5.30pm – live on Prime Video:

15. Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps
14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 12 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 38 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 18 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 30 caps

10. Finn Russell (Bath Rugby) – Vice-Captain – 71 caps
9. Ben White (Toulon) 15 caps

1. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
2. Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) 9 caps
3. WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 56 caps
4. Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 27 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – Vice-captain – 64 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 42 caps
7. Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps
8. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps


16. Ewan Ashman (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps
17. Rory Sutherland (unattached) 25 caps
18. Javan Sebastian (Edinburgh Rugby) 5 caps
19. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps
20. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 35 caps
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps
22. Ben Healy (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 43 caps

Tickets for Saturday’s game against Georgia (kick-off 5.30pm) are still available HERE with kids under 12 free until midnight on Thursday (T&Cs apply).

There are NO Autumn Test fixtures this year, so this is your last chance to see Scotland men in action on home soil in 2023!

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners